Biden signs sanctions bills, targets Russia, Belarus

The White House announced Friday that President Joe Biden has approved two bills imposing more sanctions on Russia and Belarus.

The sanctions mark the administration’s latest action to penalize the two countries for Russia’s ongoing deadly invasion of Ukraine — and the first time the sanctions in response to the war have come from Capitol Hill.

The first bill discontinues normal trade relations with Russia and Belarus, punishing the countries by paving the way for higher tariffs on imports from them. The other bans energy imports from Russia, including oil, coal and natural gas.

Thursday morning, the Senate unanimously passed the two measures. While the House voted overwhelmingly to pass the legislation, the bills faced more opposition there.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *