FEC approves N1.4b for power sector as Buhari inducts NPC, ICPC commissioners – Nexus News

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved N1.4 billion for the procurement of more equipment for the Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) to increase electricity supply.

Minister of Power, Abubakar Aliyu, revealed this when he hinted the State House Correspondents on the outcome of the meeting of the council, chaired by President Muhammadu Buhari in Abuja, yesterday.

He said: “I presented two memos from the Ministry of Power for TCN. The first was a variation of the sum of a contract for the 132/33 KV substation at Kafanchan, Kaduna State, with a KV line base extension at Jos substation in Plateau State. This is in the sum of N132, 705, 861.42.”

The minister stated that the second approval was for the procurement of handling equipment and operational vehicles also for TCN at a cost of N1.3 billion.

“The second memo was for the supply of handling equipment, haulage and operational vehicles at N1,338,159,080.88.

“They are heavy lifting equipment that the TCN requires for doing its work in the store and on the field while changing equipment and moving transformers.”

Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu, revealed that the council approved fees for seed production in the country.

According to him, the council approved N400,000 per variety for private seed companies and N100,000 per variety for research institutions.

Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, also revealed that the council approved an increase of N317.7 million for the Pategi Water Supply Project, Phase 11, in Kwara.

He stated that the project was initially awarded in 2018 by the Buhari administration at a cost of N3.2 billion with a completion period of 74 months.

Read Also: Again, Northern elders solicits Buhari’s resignation over insecurity 

MEANWHILE, Buhari also swore in commissioners of the National Population Commission (NPC) and Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

The event was done a few minutes before the start of the meeting.

The NPC commissioners are Chief Benedict Ukpong Effiong (Akwa Ibom), Mrs. Gloria Fateya Izonfo (Bayelsa), Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya (Benue), Dr. Haliru Bala (Kebbi) and Dr. Eyitayo Oyekunle Oyetunji (Oyo).

The ICPC commissioners are retired Assistant Inspector General of Police, Olugbenga Adeyanju (Ekiti State), Senator Anthony Agbo (Ebonyi), Anne Otelafu Odey (Cross River), Goni Ali Gujba (Yobe) and Dr. Louis Solomon Mandama (Adamawa).

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *